top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturealifewithlessplastic

One potato, two potato, three potato, four...

Updated: Nov 6, 2018



Our five a day intake should be one of the healthiest parts of our lifestyle. Sadly, the packaging that this fresh, colourful produce comes in, is not always healthy for our planet.


If you look in the vegetable and salad trays of your fridge, what do you see? A sea of vegetables covered in plastic?


I wrote to Tesco, my normal supermarket for the weekly shop, to ask them why so much of their produce was wrapped in non-recyclable plastic. Their response was that the film and bags used for most of their products, increased their shelf life and thus reduces food waste. The film on a cucumber apparently extends its life by 14 days.


My other thought, is why, when some items are on offer, for example avocados, the supermarket feels it is better to package two items together rather than just letting me pick two for the same discounted price without the plastic packaging. This is particularly infuriating, given that several vegetable or fruit items have their own natural packaging. I have yet to understand how it can be cheaper for the company to pay a factory to pick a red, green and yellow pepper and package them, than it is to let a person pick up three peppers of their choice in the shop. I am not going to try and work that out right now.


Since being on this ‘journey’, Paul and I have tried our hardest to buy fruit and veg loose wherever possible. Buying loose for most people though, means putting the produce in a plastic bag. Not us! We have developed two methods – let’s call them the boy method and the girl method!


It is just worth saying here that we use the self-service ‘scan as you shop’ system at Tesco and therefore everything goes straight into our bag to take home – nothing will touch a conveyor belt. I know that is where some people struggle with the hygiene issue. If you do have this issue, then you will be better off jumping straight to the girl method!


The boy method

Paul’s method is to weigh and scan all the loose produce, and then put it loose into one big re-usable bag. Heavy things at the bottom, up to mushrooms (the only thing in a paper bag) and bananas on top. The stickers he puts on the edge of the bag (in case he gets checked at the till) and these go in the bin when he gets home. This method produces one extremely heavy bag, which I could not lift! It also produces a wonderful, colourful bag of produce to bring home.


The girl method

When I am home on a Saturday, I am able to visit the greengrocers in Loughborough. I have actually found it quite nice to be asked how I am and to be able to chat to the owner each week – even if only about the weather! I have replaced plastic bags for lightweight material drawstring bags made from my left over material stash. They are large, medium and small in size, with an extra special long one for leeks. The owner clearly now knows me as the lady with the pretty bags, as she comments on them every week! If I have been away and unable to get to the greengrocers, I still use my bags – just in Tesco.



However you choose to do the weekly veg shop, the aim of the game is to lower the amount of plastic you are using. There is no point saying ‘Oh, I don’t buy 5p bags as they are bad for the environment’ only to then use eight produce bags and create a pile of unrecyclable plastic from the packaging. This is all equally bad for the environment, it just remains free.


I know Morrison’s proudly introduced paper bags in their stores, which is a step in the right direction. But, here I draw your mind back to our ‘Holy Grail’ – to not use any material unnecessarily if it will only to be used once. My material bags will last me, I’d like to say, a lifetime. Paul’s method doesn’t use anything! Both of these are better than plastic or paper bags that will be thrown away after one use.


Several friends have started to tell me about the veg boxes they get delivered from local farmers or companies. I have to say, the pictures of a fresh box of veg, delivered to your door, look delicious. I have yet to try one of these, so won’t comment on the system in detail. It is, however, a growing industry and can mean that you try vegetables or fruits that you wouldn’t normally choose yourself in the supermarket.


To end today’s blog post, and to say thank you to everyone who has been reading and sending me comments, I would like to try a little giveaway! I made my produce bags and thought you might like some too. The prize will be a set of six bags (two large, two medium and two small) and three reusable face wipe pads (crocheted with 100% cotton).


To enter, you simply need to share this blog post via Facebook, tagging me in and commenting on one thing you have changed. Each night, I post a link to the blog on my page, and this will help you share it easily. You have until 7pm on Wednesday 7 November 2018 to enter and your name will go into a hat to be drawn.


If you are not on Facebook, then find me on Instagram (A_life_with_less_plastic). Photo something you have changed whilst reading the blog and tag me in. Again you have until 7 pm on Wednesday to enter.


Good Luck!!


More info

Bag sizes: large bag is 33cm x 35cm; medium bag is 28cm x 25cm; smalll bag is 20cm x 20cm. The material is different for each size allowing you to pick out the bag easily in the supermarket. The bags are suitable for all fruit and veg. The large one is also useful for bread and rolls. All are fully machine washable. Normal value £10 for 6 bags.

Face wipe pads: 9 cm square. Other colours are available and this can be discussed with the winner. These are made with 100% cotton and are machine washable. It is good to wash them in a delicates bag, but it is not essential. Normal value £5 for 3 pads.

Second class postage is included in the prize.



Lo siento a mis amigos Mexicanos – es solamente para gente en Ingaterra porque su correos es tan malo!


115 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page