top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturealifewithlessplastic

It is coming ...



Shh ... don't say it too loudly but, CHRISTMAS is on its way!


My feeling towards the hype of Christmas has always been, nothing before 1 December – normally! This year, I have decided that I will have it in the back of my mind from now on. Why the change of heart? Well, obviously, I have the desire to deal with Christmas in the same way I have dealt with the whole of 2018 – with minimum waste and being as kind to the planet as possible.


I thought to finish off my run of articles, I’d share some ideas to get you thinking about the weeks ahead. Of everything I have learnt this year, I think the most important has been that in order to use minimal packaging and create minimum waste, it is best to use the Scouts motto – ‘be prepared’. If we think about Christmas in advance, hopefully the amount of cheap plastic items that will be immediately thrown ‘away’ might be kept to a minimum.


Sadly, the ‘green’ element of Christmas has mostly been replaced with a big, red Santa branded wonderland of … plastic. How can we change our mind-set? More importantly, how can we explain to children that Christmas can be just as wonderful without the 30 second high that cheap plastic toys deliver?


Wrapping paper



Another game of spot the difference. Two pictures showing piles of presents. Personally, I think both look inviting, exciting and beautiful, but in one all the wrapping, bows and ties will end up in the bin and the other has paper that can be recycled or put in the compost bin and string that can be reused. So, which do you think is better?


Possibly you’re thinking your children might not be so impressed by the brown paper and string. I thought, there could be two answers to this. They could decorate the brown paper to make it more personal. If you have two children, they could perhaps design each other’s paper? Or with stamps, stencils or potato printing they could design the paper you will use for everyone! Mr FC might even have his elves design his paper this year!


The second option doesn’t involve as much colouring and is therefore less time consuming… explain it to them. Most children I know loved watching Blue Planet and (in small chunks with explanation) Drowning in Plastic. If we explain to them the truth and why we need to change, my experience in the classroom tells me that they generally accept it. And especially when animals are involved, they can become more vocal and proactive than most adults.


Decorations


On a day to day basis, when we think of plastic we generally think of fizzy bottled drinks, Tupperware and plastic bags. Think a bit harder for Christmas and we have trees, tinsel, garlands, light-up Santas – the works! With every swap I have given you, I have always said, use it up before swapping so as not to be wasteful. For Christmas decorations, it is exactly the same message. There is no point throwing out decorations that are perfectly useful just because they are made of plastic.


However, if when you lug all the boxes out of the loft some items are past their best, then try to make their replacements more sustainable. This might mean not replacing them at all and going for a more minimalist look, or finding handmade items at markets. If you are feeling artistic give origami a try or you have three weeks to learn to crochet! And if all of that is too much, you could always go old skool with a few paper chains!



Last year, I saw a wreath making workshop advertised in the village and I understand from friends these are quite common across the country. The workshop cost me £30 and I spent the evening, enjoying a prosecco or two, eating mince pies and making my Christmas wreath. The florist provided everything that was needed and as it happened (and I wasn’t even thinking this way at the time) almost everything I chose could go into the compost when it started to droop. I kept the red plastic berries, thinking I would make my own wreath this year. As it happens, I am just going to take them with me to reuse at the workshop when I go again!


Presents


Since learning how to make my own fruit flavoured spirits from my good friend Alison, many friends and family members have received a little bottle of delicious, homemade gin for Christmas. Those I know appreciate it, will no doubt receive the same again this year! Do you remember the episode of Friends when Monica makes cookies for all the caretakers of the building and everyone moaned at her, but then in reality the caretaker loved the gift? He loved it as it was personal, home-made and thoughtful. Generally everyone has everything they need because we buy and consume items all year round. All this means is we end up buying items for the sake of it because we think we should.


You are going to have to be strong for the next bit….


Stand up to your family and friends! Do Christmas differently this year. Maybe everyone puts on a card the one thing they would really like (you could set a price limit) and then you pick names out of a hat. Or, as my sister and our partners have done, decide that you will gift some time together. We now always go away to a cottage somewhere for the May bank holiday. It is then always something to look forward to. Alternatively, plenty of charities sell a ‘gift of giving’ style present – you could aim these at members of the family and buy the old goat or a toilet for that someone special!


I have a large group of friends that go way, way back from Essex. Every year we do ‘Essex Christmas’ and bring £1 presents. I was so pleased when one of the hosts bravely suggested that maybe we could stop this tradition. The gifts generally get left at the host’s house and are just a token but don’t really mean anything. I know we will still have a fantastic party together, just with a little less waste.


If you do need to buy toys, could they be second hand? I have found some great games, often still with their packaging on the cards inside, from charity shops. Yes, there are always the items that look a bit battered and old but, there are also items that could easily be brand new. Facebook selling groups or apps like Shpock, often have hundreds of items that people want to sell on and are usually in better condition than the charity shops, as they want some money from them.


Grub's Up



Christmas time is often full to the brim: meals with friends, family, travelling and cooking. It is no wonder that many of us in the past have tried to opt for the convenience of plastic cutlery, plates and bowls for some parties. Used once and then thrown away, these items are horrific for the environment. Even if you use paper style alternatives these items won’t get recycled if they are greasy and covered. It is a chore having to do extra washing up, but I urge to think about whether you really, really need to use that plastic or paper.




For everything I have spoken about in this blog, we, as a planet of individuals, need to start thinking differently about the way we consume, the way we dispose of rubbish and the way we look after what we have been so magically given. In my original speech, I said:

There is only one world. No back up to download when it goes wrong, no ability to throw it away and just buy a new one. Or to reboot the system and rewrite whatever complex coding our environment has. When it’s gone, it’s gone and every ONE of us will be too. So every one of us needs to start doing our bit today.


I urge you to start thinking differently, we all must start thinking differently. If you make small changes for 2018, without thinking by 2020 you will have made massive positive changes.


When it gets here, which it will, I hope you have a very Happy Christmas!

43 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page