top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturealifewithlessplastic

Fireworks Night!



The celebration of Guy Fawkes is my favourite festival of the year, as I love fireworks. The feeling of getting wrapped up in hat, scarf and coat with welly boots and thick socks, to head back to school to see the display, is one of my very fondest childhood memories. Now as an adult, I will still make every effort to go to a display with friends and family to enjoy the atmosphere.


When I was a child, there were not quite so many carnival stalls and sellers wandering around the field. This post is going to make me sound like a real serious party pooper as I urge you to chat to your children about whether a gadget that spins and lights and whirs and whistles is really necessary. These plastic gadgets will simply end up under the bed having lost their power. Only to then get thrown out to landfill.


A parent on Instagram posted a message from her child’s school saying that these toys would not be available this year but, if children had light sabres etc at home they were more than welcome to bring them.


Could your child hunt out a light up toy to take with them instead of buying a new one? Just a thought to take you into the weekend.



Enjoy your night out!

19 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page